Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Angels with attitude

Today I had to return to Sussex to visit the dentist. To make the two hundred mile round trip worthwhile I arranged to visit the stained glass windows at Ashdown Park. Before it became a hotel, Ashdown Park was a 'Mother House' for the Order of the Sisters of Notre Dame. The windows are by the incomparable Harry Clarke, widely regarded as the foremost stained glass artist of the Art Nouveau movement. 

Completed in 1925, there are thirteen huge windows by Harry Clarke in the former chapel, each  depicting a different scene from the life of Mary, mother of Jesus. I had the chapel to myself for over an hour and took almost a hundred photographs. I will go through them all over the next few days but have pulled out this one for my blip today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.