Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Will and Chloe's Quilt.

I got John to hold it up for a picture as I think it is a better picture for my records. 

I had a bad night last night as my left ankle was quit swollen and painful. Worried about infection, as open wounds like this are prone to it, I took some ibuprophen (an anti inflammatory) put on a support sock and an ice pack and went to bed, but sleep didn't come. I must have slept more than I felt like I did because it felt much better this morning and I managed the drive to Kathy's quite comfortably. John elected to stay home this morning as Pedro our gardener was coming and John had quite a list for him and wanted to be on hand for them.

The drive was easier than usual because the schools are not in session this week and it made a difference. Kathy and I talked about Thanksgiving plans, among many other things, and she gave me an  croquet set they have never been able to use because they don't have a lawn. We have a lawn of sorts...more like a weed patch turning green now after the rain, but it is on quite a hill...not conducive to croquet. Dana and Jim however, do have a lawn, one of the few left here in drought country, so we'll take it over there. Cornhole here, croquet there and lots of board and card games should keep everybody occupied. We will have 14 people from 8 months to 80+ years so we will need some activities for when the tryptophan induced urge to take a nap kicks in. 

I made a shopping list for my contributions to the feast, wrote a few notes and looked at the walls and floors in need of a wash and decided to ignore them.I did go around spider web busting. A thankless task as they come back almost immediately, but it feels like something of a result for five or ten minutes!

After his 'funny' turn last weekend, John decided to forego beer for awhile so in solidarity I have given up wine. Sometimes we slip into habits that need revisiting, and neither one of us is really missing it much. Thanksgiving will be a test, but we'll play it by ear and take some good non-alcoholic drinks for back-up.  

We're really looking forward to getting most of the family together for the feast. Matt will be in New York with the girls, but John's niece Lindsay, her husband Adisa and two little girls will be joining us again. We haven't met the new family member, Sage, who is now 8 months old and I'm sure Grace, who is eight, will have plenty of stories about life on a houseboat.

It's getting dark so early now, and I need to go see what Pedro and crew did today while I still can....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.