Deep and Clear

I have found getting a blip very difficult today and not for lack of trying.

M and I had a lovely walk, somewhere new, on a woodland hill track above above Invergarry. Bruce and Caley approved and through the gaps in the trees you got quite good views down to Loch Oich and north east you could see Loch Ness too. It was warm, dull and overcast and the mid morning light did nothing special at all.

I fancied a go at getting a garden bird on the wee bird feeder stuck to the kitchen window. I was hoping for something a wee bit different very up close with my wide angle lens. i haven't given up on this but on a day with poor light and when DOF is so narrow, focussing on something at 10 inches with a wide open lens is just silly. I look on with envy at other blippers with their head and shoulder shots of Robins from half a mile away.

Last week I ended up down (does that make sense?) at the River Roy in a lovely shady stretch of river. The light was low and I was cursing the tripod absence that night. I took the bike and headed up the Bohenie road this evening. I had the tripod this time but the process of setting it up and priming the camera the way I wanted was really difficult as the midges were so bad. It was tempting to just hand hold at ISO1600 and get going again.

The overhanging foliage has the effect of taking much of the glare off the water and you can look through the surface and make out smooth rock and huge boulders on the river floor. At least that was what I was trying to convey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.