Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

So long

... and Thanks    (for all the fish, Douglas Adams - Hitchhikers Guide to the Universe)

I had intended to travel south early, breaking my journey somewhere in Yorkshire, but I couldn't resist one last look at the castle with more iconic views in very different conditions to yesterday. This is a 5-shot panorama from further down the beach - you definitely need to look large!

Finally dragging myself away, I headed south along the coast road into Seahouses for petrol and a very welcome coffee, and then Beadnell for a quick walk around the bay. Here I captured another panorama, this time of the harbour overlooked by Lime Kilns of all things (extra). The original kiln was built in 1798 to produce fertilizers for the nearby fields. It was so successful that it was soon joined by two more kilns, with lime being exported to mainly Scotland. However, just 20-odd years later they fell out of use and today serve as storage for lobster pots and shelter for the public and numerous birds which call them home.

I finally started my 6.5 hour journey to get home around 8pm, thankful  that the weather throughout my break had been so kind considering the time of year in the UK.   I now have almost 1200 images  from 6 days to sort through! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.