CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Coal Tit making a rare visit to the feeder

After refilling the two feeders, one with sunflowers, the other with suet pellets, Went back up to my study with my camera. I was hoping to see another appearance by a Willow Tit, which I’d photographed a few days ago in the rain, but found the image was rather blurred.

When I went to collect the feeder prior to refilling it in the cabin on the opposite side of the patio, I saw a Great Spotted Woodpecker alighting on the tall wooden pole in the next door garden. As I looked up at it the woodpecker regarded me as well and then hopped a few inches around to the far side of the pole, as if out of sight, which amused me. I hoped it realised I was stocking up on its food, as it is a regular visitor to the feeders.

The rain was falling most of the time but not heavily. I did take some pictures but didn’t see the Willow Tit. Later in the afternoon I tried again when there was a large assortment of birds flying on and off this feeder. In the half light it was quite difficult to differentiate between the black feathers on their heads, many all have such features.

At one point I was pleased to see this rather rarer visitor, a Coal Tit, standing its ground. It is a very small bird and most of the time it is very quick to land, grab a seed and fly away. But this Coal Tit stayed rather longer and I’ve chosen this image for my records. I'm still hoping to see the Willow Tit, before it moves further afield.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.