Devonian

By Mover

Trains, and Boats, and Planes

The speaker at the Museum today, Roger Cooper, gave a talk on Sat Nav and How GPS Works. I was surprised to see the hall was almost full - sailors perhaps. All beyond me of course but I enjoyed the musical interludes accompanying the slides, for example, Lost in France -Bonnie Tyler, We all live in a Yellow Submarine -The Beatles, and Trains and Boats and Planes (Bacharach and David).
Later I went to a meeting of the Lecture Programme Committee in the library. As usual I stared at the bookcase dedicated to P Q Karkeek, and looked him up.
The Q stood for Quick. He was a doctor, who worked at the Chester Infirmary, and the Seaman’s Hospital, Greenwich. Later he was a GP in Torquay, and Medical Officer of Health for St Marychurch, and from 1893 -6 was President of our Society.  
Apparently he was a great reader and seeker of information. “I want to know’ was his frequent greeting, which is probably why people still enthusiastically attend our meetings, no matter what the subject is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.