Marking Time

By Libra

A Glasgow icon

Photo:  the Duke of Wellington statute with his iconic headgear is a “must see” tourist attraction, even today in the middle of winter.
Apparently, it inspired Banksy and led him to have his first major retrospective in Glasgow which was a sensational sell-out.
 
I had to go into Glasgow today and I decided to try out the bus service with my bus pass on the Megabus. 
 
The journey took less than an hour, it’s totally free, and it was very comfortable.  It’s a service I shall certainly use again and it’s much more reliable than the trains.
 
I have mixed feelings about a city where I spent so much of my working life.  Sad to see more homeless people than I remember in Buchanan St , with  some camped outside designer shops. One can’t help feeling that some people are doing very well while others are struggling, that the gap between rich and poor is getting bigger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.