Dakers

By Dakers

Aberdeen Wall Mural

The Day Of The Unplanned Journey. I was the recipient of some money, and I wanted to deposit this in the bank. I do not like to have any money lying about and use cards for every transaction. A side effect of Covid, perhaps.

Where to deposit it?  Stonehaven seemed to be closest. The journey to Stonehaven guided by Apple Maps was interesting and unusual owing to a number of road closures. I arrived in Stonehaven to find the branch had become a charity shop!

I did chat to an elderly lady who was prising money out of ‘the hole in the wall’ as to where she deposited her money. 

‘The nearest branch is Aberdeen’.

Entering the details into Apple Maps I headed off to Aberdeen. I parked the car and headed off to purchase a parking ticket.

Aberdeen Council parking meters does not accept payments by Ringo. They accept payments by PayByPhone. There’s an app for that so I download the app, answer the usual questions and soon I am all square with Aberdeen Council.

Now to find the Bank Branch. After a few minutes walking around the area, the Branch has gone, disappeared. Not even a hole in the wall to mark its existence.

Consulting the Bank’s own app I find a branch that is open for business.

Having parked the car, I head along Union Street to find the branch, again being guided by Apple Maps. Success. Mission Accomplished. Excellent staff in the Branch.

After that I then walk back to the car, noting the changes taking place in Aberdeen. Some good. Some bad.

Today’s entry was taken during my walk. A very interesting mural.

Apple Maps is programmed to take me back to Ballater, again by an interesting route avoiding several road closures, probably caused by the effects of flooding.

The weather is fine, the scenery is beautiful and I really should stop to take some photos. However a late lunch is of much more importance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.