Marik_i

By Marik_i

A dark day

Another dark November day today. But it was even darker sixty years ago.

I sat in my dentist's waiting room. I recall that my apppointment was at 2 pm. The radio was on and there was something like president has been shot. What? said one of the other customers. Oh, said the receptionist calmly, they would give more information if it were ours.

In a few moments it became clear what had happened. The dentist's office was in downtown not far from the White House, and I have a vague recollection that I walked over to see a lot of people gathered at the gate.

Whatever, we all know the rest. And as far as I am concerned, the days in the world have been dark ever since. The Kennedy era was different, there was hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.