Seriously?

By MerrilHope

JFK (May 29, 1917 – November 22nd 1963)

“Let us not emphasize all on which we differ but all we have in common. Let us consider not what we fear separately but what we share together.” - Remarks at Harvard University, 1956

The imminent stormy weather was kind enough to wait while Rufus and I (with Gece the garden dog and Jessica one of the garden cats) went for our morning walk enabling us to enjoy a warm and a playful wind. 

Late morning I went with Abdullah, who is fast becoming my renovations manager, to the villa for a couple of hours to see how the kitchen refurbishment is progressing and talk about other changes that need to be made.  Other than that, it was an at home day because, by lunchtime the wind had upgraded to malevolent and the rain had arrived with the clear intention of outstaying its welcome. Stormy weather lasted for the rest of the day. The advantage (?) of this being that confined to home makes me search for activities to fill my time.  Thank you Google for reminding me that today is the anniversary, though that hardly seems an appropriate label, for the assassination of John F. Kennedy. I was a child but I remember my parents reaction as we watched the news of something that happened so very far away and yet so directly affected us all. Thank you Google for then providing me with both a series of photographs of the man for me to attempt to draw - I don't practice enough as you can see - and for the many thoughtful quotations he uttered during his life that are as true today as they were sixty plus years ago on this one of those 'where were you when?" days. 

“A man may die, nations may rise and fall, but an idea lives on. Ideas have endurance without death.” - Opening of the USIA Transmitter, 1963

“We have the power to make this the best generation of mankind in the history of the world or make it the last.” - Address Before the 18th General Assembly of the United Nations, 1963

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.