wingpig

By wingpig

new bits

If I had allowed it, the wind would have assisted me quite nicely as far as Norberwick, or even Dunbar, but as I would have needed to return the same route and didn't have all day I turned off at Cockenzie as originally intended to investigate the old-railway-looking path heading to Tranent, which I had considered looking at the other week when I went out to Pencaitland. Apart from the thick leafmush over the first few hundred metres it's quite short and definitely usable, though I don't know that coming from the other direction would be much fun in any sort of wind as the road up from the Pencaitland path was relatively steep, busy and exposed. After detouring through Newtongrange to go past the viaduct I didn't go past last week I ended up heading back to town via Dobbie's and up Gilmerton Road, which was a similar arrangement of into-the-wind, exposed, narrow-shared-footway-beside-fast-motor-traffic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.