KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Thanksgiving Flowers

We're having a very low key Thanksgiving tomorrow. Not a lot of family around to celebrate anymore, but my son is coming over (the grands are with their mom), along with a wonderful girlfriend of mine, and the ex will make an appearance with a pumpkin pie. I'm bucking the whole turkey thing...why cook a huge darned turkey that turns the kitchen upside down when I'll only eat a few bites and then have to send the rest home with whomever will take it? My son is a vegetarian so perfect excuse to NOT cook a turkey. So I'm making a wild mushroom lasagna instead with a lovely fall salad of radicchio and arugula. 

I braved the roads today and went to the grocery store for a few last mushrooms and decided to cough up an exorbitant amount for some Thanksgiving flowers, which are quite lovely actually. (And somehow there was a sprinkle of rain in my dining room!) The cashier told me that it's the quietest Thanksgiving she's seen in 28 years of working at the store....she said she has had several customers tell her that they weren't having turkey this year because it's so expensive. Yikes!

Oh, and the date last night was an absolute blast ;-) I believe I'm smitten (and so is he).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.