Day at a Time

By Tweedy

100 Montgomery Street

In Edinburgh again today and, making use of the opportunity, I took myself down Leith Walk to Montgomery Street where, in 1901, my maternal grandfather lived with his parents James Henry and Jane Young Milne. My grandfather was only two or three at the time of the census and the youngest of the five surviving children in the family. 100 Montgomery Street looks like a very nice main door flat. I knocked on the door but there was no answer. James, my great grandfather, was a shipping agent for the Orkney and Shetland company. The family moved again before James died in 1910 and I'll go to look at that dwelling another time. 

I'd read about a flock of 200+ waxwings in the Montgomery Street Park earlier this week and I hoped to see some. No luck, though there were  berries  left on some of the trees. 

I'm blipping from that lovely Edinburgh institution Valvona & Crolla enjoying a cup of coffee. Soon I'll walk back up the Walk to meet my friend and former colleague (from two jobs actually) for lunch before catching my train home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.