Edisteve

By edisteve

In praise of Dr. Who

Today is the 60th anniversary of the first Dr. Who episode being shown on BBC1.

It takes me back to reading these Dr. Who books as an 10 year old kid in the 1970s. Along with Enid Blyton’s Famous Five and Secret Seven books, it was these books (these are my original books which I kept from my parents house) that instilled my love of reading, which I still hopefully have today. 

Twenty years approx later, J.K. Rowling published her first Harry Potter book and managed to enchant a whole new generation of kids into reading and using their imagination.

For me, reading and imagination go hand in hand and it worries me that today’s kids perhaps spend too much time on phones and tablets and not enough time reading and using their imagination. 

That said, there still seem to be a lot of children’s books being published, particularly from celebrities such as David Walliams, Tom Fletcher etc.

Additionally, Queen Camilla champions children’s reading, which is good. 

So maybe children’s reading is still going strong after all, which can only be celebrated. 

Have a good day all, and keep reading. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.