LincolnWarrior

By LincolnWarrior

Night on the Tiles

Well not the best of days for me . Last night when getting ready for bed tragedy struck. As I took my socks off I noticed some blood on my leg  upon checking it out I noticed it was pouring quite fast and going everywhere . When I tried to stop it it started spurting  out everywhere. It was like a scene from a horror film  . I grabbed a plaster that didn't do the trick then  found a thick dressing in the cupboard which after a minute was very red and the blood was running down  to my foot . It wasn't stopping so Julie rang 111 I answered a few questions they said they would ring back shortly . After they rang back it was still bleeding so they asked Julie if she could get me up to the hospital  I was unable to drive obviously and Julie cant , There was no ambulances free for a few hours so they arranged for a Taxi  to come pick us up. When the taxi arrived about 5 minutes later the driver had no idea what was the best way to hospital so I had to direct him .luckily it was only a 5 minute journey .
We then spent a hour waiting for my name to be called out they was busy but thankfully not to busy in the UTC department but there was a few Drama characters  waiting to be seen.
When I went to be seen the dressing and my leg as very red and the doctor asked how long ago it was that the bleeding had started and I said around 2 to 3 hours ago as he took the dressing off he was hoping it had stopped but no a spurt of blood shot out and it was still bleeding after all that time.
The next thing he did was a bit of magic you could say he got a small bit of cloth called Kaltostat on the wound and held it there for about 5 minutes . It is a dressing used a lot by the military as its a gel type dressing that seals bleeds very quickly . He then put a dressing on and said that should sort the problem out and off I went home. 
The cause of the bleed was probably caused by catching a vein close to the surface in my leg possibly with my finger nail . The bleed hole was only like a pin prick size So not the best of nights/early morning .
We live close to the hospital so we decided I was able to walk home and not wait for a taxi so a steady walk home took about 15 to 29 minutes .
On the walk home I did spot a fox in fact it was very close to me at times . I managed to get a quick shot on my mobile not the best of shots as it was on the move most of the time.
Back home and into bed at 4.00 am, I didn't rush to get up for work but did wake up at 6.30 . I had to go over to Metheringham  as the British Heart foundation was going to pick up some items for charity. I had arranged for them to collect a big unit and a couple of other units but when they did arrive they sadly they couldn't make use of them so they left them for us to try and get them gone.
Over to work for an afternoon of nearly falling asleep at times .  Back home and a steady evening and hopefully a better nights sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.