SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Carlisle

I went upstairs to the kitchen to fill my thermos and was entranced by the birch. The sky and light had an unusual blue tinge.

Very sad to hear about the death of a colleague who had only retired about two years ago, perhaps less. I was reading the order of service that had been left in the staff room and it included Henry Scott-Holland’s ‘Death is Nothing At All’ which I absolutely loathe with a vengeance so I’ve sought out the following poem because the last words I remember him saying at our last meeting were that he had decided to retire because ‘life’s short’.

Nothing Gold Can Stay - Robert Frost

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so for an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xn1_vUe_Vws

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.