Northern Exposure

By Northern

Peedie Terns

Apologies for the rubbish picture but I was just pleased to get something that you could actually make out that there are actually birds there.

I've looked for the Little Terns on this beach a few times as they have nested here for a few years now. Never seen them though. Of course, today I wasn't looking for them - I was wandering the beach before going to pick the boys up from snorkelling* on the other side of the 4th Barrier, when I turned round and there were three of them behind me.

I know it sounds stupid but I was really surprised at how little they are. I had thought they were maybe just a little bit smaller than the arctic or common tern and not being very good at identifying birds I expected to be in the usual situation of thinking it might be what I thought but really not very sure at all. However it's hard not to notice how much smaller and more delicate these are. You can't tell from my picture but I could also see their yellow beaks with black tips. Couldn't decide if they were going to be as aggressive as their larger cousins but they didn't seem to be bothered with me being there at all. They really are beautiful wee birds.

*managed to miss the opportunity of Campbell snorkelling alongside a seal. He does seem to attract them whenever he is in the water I guess they recognise kindred spirit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.