Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

After the ball is over

Oh. My. Gosh.

You guys. You guys, seriously! WHAT a weekend I've had. I ache in new and strange ways that I never thought possible. My hair is greasier and more matted than ever before. My ears are still ringing from the pyrotechnics from last night's Rammstein gig. My shoes are beyond salvation and probably should be burned for the sake of mankind.

Of course, I'm talking about Download music festival. 90,000 people all crammed into a few fields in Donington, with one thing on their minds: METAL!

I cannot begin to describe how utterly broken I feel today. After a weekend of solid boozing (FYI, girls don't seem to get frisked on the gates into the arena, so if you ever want to sneak booze in, load up a lady with a ski jacket!) and partying, metal moshing and talking toot, we drove through the night, seeing the sunrise from the wrong side. Poor Martin, Laura and Dom have more miles to go before they sleep - they have to get to Guernsey while I'm sat here in my bath.

Which brings me onto the photo: I dyed my hair pinky red for the festival, and my bathwater is now alarmingly vivid. I can't decide whether to cut the bracelet off my wrist now, or leave it on for a while.

Highlights: Iron Maiden, Turisas, Rammstein, Airbourne, Ghost, In This Moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.