WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Candlelight

Busy day today .. first I went to my last yoga class before we leave. It was good as usual. Sorry to miss Amaya's classes, but I'm glad I've found a teacher in France so I can carry on when we get back. 

It was a dash back to Almuñecar for my next appointment, for which I was half an hour late. Tomorrow is the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women, so the Ayuntamiento had changed its monthly vigil from Wednesday to Friday. When I arrived, they had finished the reading out of names, when papers with the names were laid out on the square with a candle lit for each one (see extra). The speeches were over by the time I arrived, but I joined our small group and went for a drink with guiri and F afterwards. Apparently the ceremony was very moving and the mayor made a good speech.

Home, lunch, and time for a siesta. Then it was back into town for an early evening concert advertised as tango and flamenco by candlelight. I'd arranged to meet R and A and their friend P there; there was a good turnout including several other people I know from intercambios.

The performance was not quite what any of us expected; to start, a violinist and a guitarist appeared on stage and played several rather avant garde pieces. Then a flamenco dancer appeared and danced completely silently -- it was more like ballet based on flamenco. Later an acrobatic tangoing couple doing balletic slow-motion tango. I can't show you this as I've run out of extras. 

So it was more music than dancing -- that said the musicians were really  excellent and very creative, and the dancing was good even though it wasn't exactly flamenco or tango. We all enjoyed it. This was about the only usable one out of my few blurry photos.

Afterwards we went to a bar for a couple of drinks and tapas -- we didn't stay too long as the others have to be up at 3 a.m. to take P to the airport ... meanwhile S has WhatsApped to let me know he's on the bus from the airport so I'll be out again shortly to pick him up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.