littlemissquirk

By littlemissquirk

Ragged

I feel a bit like this tree in mums garden. Ragged round the edges and rather spiky.
Bucketed down to Kelso to meet with the OTs who were assessing mums potential return.
As she’s still lying flat on her back at my visits I’m garnering myself for this being a long way off.
Oh no, they said. Probably before Christmas!?!?!
How has that happened. Well, apparently my mum has been able to get out of bed, walk to the loo and day room with a zimmer and is far more capable than she’s letting on to me. They were very encouraging saying she should be living with some back up help within five weeks! Not quite the helpless invalid she has been. Portraying to me.
She has always loved being the patient and losing the grasp of control and ability to have everyone cater to her every whim is a tough power to concede.
I was FURIOUS! When I should be delighted she’s improved so much I was actually the opposite that she effectively had been hamming it up when I was in.
Grrrrr
Her list for today was worthy of The Apprentice shopping task:
5 specific books bought from a charity shop. I suggested my time was better spent visiting her and there’s this site called Amazon…..
Ten packs of Parma ham
Two parcels she’d ordered for yet more cashmere jumpers (£300 each)
A huge and heavy box with her personalised Xmas cards
100 stamps
A new pair of tweezers for chin hairs
A coffee QUARTER shot latte with extra foam because it’s only the foam she really wants
A packet of MILK chocolate McVities Digestives
£30 in three ten pound notes
A specific tote bag
I came in looking like a pack horse. Unfortunately she had a friend with her otherwise both barrels would have been given.
I left after half an hour with steam coming out my ears
My day off? PAH!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.