On the road...

By johnsmiley1321

Thanksgiving Day...

Thanksgiving day was really wonderful. Sleeping in, playing with Tiger and then headed over to see my mom. I had gotten this autumn gnome for her as gnomes are a part of the family history and some autumn candy corn. Traditional candy corn, candy corn with chocolate and pumpkins - the colors of autumn.... We talked about this day, if she wanted me to stay for dinner at the caregivers place, how she was doing and.. A really wonderful 3 hours with mom. I then headed over to my sisters house. A small gathering this year. just 6 of us. My sister's family, her husbands parents and me. Really nice for conversation sake, catching up on life and.. At dinner my sister's husband dad said a prayer of thanks and then I smiled at my sister and started to add my dad's Arizona families tradition after the prayer - I took my sisters hand and started saying "how happy we are, how happy we are, how happy we are, amen". A tradition from my uncle who was a minister. A wonderful mix of family traditions. Dinner was grand especially my sisters gluten free apple pie. Delicious! I wished I could have stayed longer but it was already past my bedtime (7pm) as I had to be at work on Friday at 3am. My sister sent me home with lots of yummy leftovers. Considering everything that's going on - a really wonderful thanksgiving being with family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.