Henello

By Henello

"Surgery"

R wanted me to replace an SSD in a device she has. We previously got a few screwdrivers because the ones we had before were cheap and had the consistancy of butter.

I've tried to open up laptops before but it it never went well, so I was a little nervous about it.

We almost immediately ran into an issue when a couple of the screws weren't budging. They were deep set in the casing and the screwdriver I was using couldn't fit, and none of the other screwdrivers were working.

We went into the city to get even more screwdrivers, desperately hoping one would work!

I attempted to unscrew the final screws with the new screwdrivers and it actually worked! Oddly, the one that worked was the same type as one I already tried. Strange.

It was a bit of an effort to remove the casing, but there were no problems. Then a lot more unscrewing ensued and we got stuck again trying to disconnect the battery. However, we ultimately managed to replace the SSD and screwed the casing back on. Success!

R likes to say I performed "surgery" on it. It definitely felt like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.