ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Great Expectations

It’s Dickensian Weekend in Ulverston and our band has two gigs today. The first one was this afternoon at the old Hartleys Brewery, where we were in a space very reminiscent of the Cavern Club - a narrow room with a low, arched ceiling. I think it was a bit of an experiment as most of the site has been converted to holiday cottages but a temporary bar had been set up and they were serving food outside. Whatever, we went down well and the place was pretty much full all the time we were playing.
Back home for tea now, before doing it all over again tonight at the more familiar surroundings of the Piel Castle. That will definitely be busy and we always get a good reception there. And no excuses for not knowing the set as we’ve already done it once! One thing I will be grateful of is a properly heated pub. It was very cold this afternoon on stage and I could barely feel my fingers at times. Not conducive to rapid chord changes!
I’ve blipped more than enough photos of the band in action over the years, so I thought I’d pop out in the interval and try and get a snap of some of the many folk who dress up in Victorian costume especially for the event. These two musicians, naturally, caught my eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.