Stoical

By DonMac2021

Loch Katrine

A demanding wee ride today, to test myself and the bike. Temperatures very low (below zero), so did wonder before I left if this was wise. 
Headed to Loch Katrine, to redo the ride that almost huffed me out the last time I tried it.
On the first very steep hill, I spotted some black ice, but slightly too late. Decided to run it, rather than braking, which I reckoned would make things worse. No luck, the bike went down like a skittle, and I slid into the ditch after it. A crack on the right elbow, a shakedown, and carried on. Luckily, I was travelling uphill, rather than down.
A gorgeous sunny day & got much further than the last trip here, and carried on to Stronachlachar, plas a detour of 9 miles to visit Inversnaid on Loch Lomond. I had to help the bike almost 100% for the last 4-5 miles, but as it had carried me stoically for 30 without complaint, I reckoned this was fair enough.
Very glad I went for it. 
Daughter was round for a Chinese meal, and now feeling pooped, and ready for bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.