SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Away

A and Django are going away for a few days, so I was free to do what I wanted today.

I studied for my PhD in Dundee in 87-90, and I met A there, so it's got a place in my heart, whatever its limitations culturally. Since one of our recent PhD graduates has just started as a lecturer there, I'd been meaning to visit him. Couple that with a good weather forecast and Hibs playing at Dundee, and it was a natural choice of where to go.

I took a roundabout route from the railway station to the Dens Road ground, taking in places that I remember - in 33 years, little has changed beyond the immediate city centre - including the view from Dundee Law. The presence of the river was the best thing about Dundee when I was studying, and the curve of the Tay rail bridge is compelling.

The match offered great entertainment. After a lovely opening goal that was created and then scored by Jair Tavares, the second Hibs goal flattered them. Hibs then had a player sent off and Dundee finally scored, making for a frantic final 20 minutes. However, it finished 2-1. I regretted not being able to buy a ticket for the away end as the atmosphere there looked great! I'd not been to Dens Park for 33 years and was shocked by how dilapidated it is, and the fact that the cafés were cash only! I can even pay with card three leagues lower at Bonnyrigg Rose! Fortunately I had my emergency £5 note in my phone, but it only covered a pie and Ribena!

Afterwards, I dropped back into the centre of the city, where I met up with S. We had dinner together in a vegan taco restaurant, before moving on to a bar in the area where I first lived in the city. 

A good away day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.