Kolachi Karachi

By Marylou

Origins

This photo blog is about my life in Karachi and so I thought it was appropriate to start with a picture of where I came from (even though this photo was not taken in Karachi and I am obviously not in it!)

This photo is from my grandparents' wedding; this important event took place in December 1945 in Lahore (when Lahore was still part of India). Sitting right beside my grandparents are my great grandparents (my grandfather's mum and dad). My grandmother was an orphan and never knew her parents. Behind the married couple are all of my grandfather's brothers and sisters (some along with their spouses). His youngest sister (GadgetKid's mum) is standing by my great grandmother's knee.

I was looking at this photo the other day and realized that all the people in it save one (the little girl standing at my granddad's knee) have passed away. It is sad but it also makes me feel so grateful and blessed to have known my own grandparents.

From my grandma (Nani) I inherited a passion for books, stories, Jesus, history, baking and cross stitch and the importance of discipline in all things. Her stories from British India were fascinating and I never tired of hearing them. She was also an amazingly determined woman; in spite of being paralyzed from the waist down as a result of an accident when she was in her 40s, she was incredibly independent and wanted to do everything for herself.

My happy-go-lucky grandfather (Nana) brought laughter and joy in my life. He fed me some great meals (and some not-so-great ones - sorry Nana), instilled in me the importance of going to church and Sunday School even when I hated it. He let me give him head massages when I had aspirations (short lived, thank goodness) of becoming a masseuse. And he taught me how to be a good loser at all sorts of board games (he always won effortlessly at any game!).

I love the fact that these wonderful people were part of my life for the first 11 and 8 years respectively. I wouldn't be the person I am today without their love and discipline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.