Cosmosellie

By cosmosellie

Patio door repair.

There is always something that needs repairing in my house. I got the patio doors 10 years ago and the design is unfit for purpose. Around the edge of the glass is a glazing bead- the piece of wood that is supposed to shed water off the glass. It didn't. It also has a rebate in it that fills with water and the same with the bottom panel on the door. All in all a terrible design. 
I took the beads off ( they were wet and swollen making them bow), dried them and tried to straighten them. I replaced them on the door surrounded by putty to try to keep the water out. 
The picture shows my finished repair,the glazing bead and the place where it slots into. 
I hope it works; I don't want to get a new patio door. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.