Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

North

Long day. Spent the morning packing first my car with all the things from P’s house that I or A wanted to keep, and then T’s van with the furniture P wanted brought up, then set off up the motorway. Listened all the way to Thundrclap by Laura Cumming which was an interesting account of the life of a 17th Century Dutch painter Carel Fabritius who had a tragic, short life and who left only a few paintings identified as his, that also told the story of her father and family and many other Dutch painters of the time. I enjoyed it, and must look up pictures of his paintings and the others she discussed,
We arrived just in time for a late lunch at the village pub then started unpacking and shifting everything into his room….rather full now and I’m not sure we’ve got things in the right place but it’s where he wanted it. T kept hiding my keys to tease me, and we’d left a lead at home for the reclining chair but he managed to improvise with one from the TV, so all went well.
After a couple of hours and catching up with his news about key workers, Pontefract cakes, walking sticks, showers and hair cuts we left him to his supper and headed our separate ways…T back home and me north to Edinburgh. Finished the book and a straightforward journey, but no parking space when I got home at 9.30pm so had to park in the square down the road and lug all my stuff back home. A is coming tomorrow so she can help me sort out what we want to keep and what to sell/give away….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.