CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A nuthatch sitting on a nearby branch

I watched a series of birds feeding on sunflower seeds and jostling for position. There is definitely a hierarchy although sometimes you get a normally subservient species which doesn’t behave in the normal manner. Bullfinches push away tits and other finches, while nuthatches then shoo away the bullfinches. Higher up the ladder the woodpeckers rule the roost.

This nuthatch flew in prompting several tits to scramble. As they are less afraid they also tend to stay and take their fill of seeds before heading off down the garden.

But today this nuthatch flew across the garden into the pussy willow tree just behind our house and close to my study window. I’d managed to film them on the feeder from my open window. The leaves of the tree have nearly all fallen to the ground so it is now easier to observe the birds in the tree where they are more at ease amongst the tight network of branches. I suppose the threat of sparrow hawks has gone.

I watched the nuthatch land on the main trunk and then actually more like a tree creeper it scented the trunk and then went onto a branch. I managed to manually focus and was pleased that I could watch it when it was relatively relaxed and in good late afternoon light.

Soon after another nuthatch appeared and I grabbed the chance to have them both within the frame, although not close together, like bullfinches. I have added a couple of ‘Extras’ one of which is of the two nuthatches. Look at the extreme left and right to spot them. The one on the right is in focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.