Plus ça change...

By SooB

One out of four

Can’t remember the last time I had so many seeds in a little orange. And this heap doesn’t include the three I swallowed in early orange enthusiasm). I broke a nail (so, not easy peel) and ‘rich’ is pushing it. Tangy though, and nonetheless welcome after a difficult day.

Early start leaving my Lovely hotel. The receptionist late last night did that careful thing of pointing to my room number on the card instead of saying it out loud, in hearing of the guy standing uncomfortably close behind me. And the room was fine - clean, comfortable, and quiet.

Birmingham New Street station has really come on since I used to change there in the 80s/90s - very fancy now. Train to York, then off to try and find a flat for TallGirl. With family goalposts for what ‘we’ want moving as the day progressed, it is not an easy job. The rain didn’t help. My actual job still needed to be done too.

I’d take the apartment I’ve rented - despite how difficult it was to find, though that was mostly down to the three different addresses I was given. Bit rich for my budget though! Cheese sandwich for dinner and off now to research flats! Of the four I saw today I’m pushing to get even one of them that’s a goer. There’s a long orange based analogy to be made, but given the length of this write up I don’t want to take the pith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.