eyesee

By davidc

MonoMonday: Architecture in Low Key

I didn't have time to go looking for any particularly fancy architecture for today's MM challenge, hosted by Carolina. However on my walk home from my usual Monday morning coffee meet-up with some old retired colleagues (known to my Editor as the "Grumpy Old Men's Club") I passed one of our local Metro stations and thought it would suffice. The station originally opened in July 1947, under the auspices of the then London and North Eastern Railway, which operated electric suburban passenger services on the North Tyneside Loop.The station is said to be of "neoclassical" design although I have to say that to me it looks fairly utilitarian - no doubt partly due to some modifications made later (although what I know about architecture could be written on the back of a postage stamp in capital letters!). The changes were made in the late 70s when the North Tyneside Loop became part of the new Metro light rail system; these changes included the construction of a new footbridge-cum-accessibility ramp: this isn't visible in this photo but has appeared once or twice before in previous blips including here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.