Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Stretching and meeting

In retrospect, today feels as if it's been busy. It's certainly been tiring, and it's been cold and beautiful again, and I've once more been seduced by the view from my bedroom window ...

I was relieved at breakfast to have a text from my pal who gives me a lift to Pilates - we always check that we're both intending to go, and the to-ing and fro-ing that results if she's not there and Himself and I are going to consecutive classes and it's too far to walk ...all too much with the actual class as well. We're onto our teacher's famous count-down to Christmas month now, with more demanding exercises that leave my core feeling totally hammered! And tell me, ye who know: is it my advanced age that means I only take off my fleece ten minutes before the end of class, despite my bagging a corner next to a heater? I have to confess that when I got home I almost fell asleep in a chair while I was waiting for the coffee to brew, which feels a very aged thing to do.

After lunch the sun lured our aching bodies out for a walk round the West Bay, though as I had a Vestry zoom meeting  at 4pm and wanted to put a casserole in the oven first we were a tad restricted for time. I have to confess here that as our study looks out on the same view of the Firth as our bedroom I was sorely distracted by the moon looking marvellous as it rose above the northern hills into the still-light sky, then slipped behind clouds, leaving a line of light on the sea, then appeared again ...

The photo was taken after the meeting, you'll be glad to hear; you can see the ferry setting off in the lower extreme right, the madness of the first house in our 'hood to decide it's Christmas, and between these two the light of a helicopter or light plane coming towards us. 

It's my youngest grandchild's birthday today. Anna is now 13 and it seems no time at all since we were crawling through an icy Edinburgh to see this little scrap of newborn humanity in the hospital and enjoying having more or less sole charge of her big sister for five days - no time, except that somehow we've inexplicably got older... Anyway, we had a wee FaceTime call this evening before she got tore into a large slice of cake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.