Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Spooning

The Rare Bird Alert pinged in with a spoonbill a couple of days ago. An adult in summer plumage had flown into South Lake. Hot footing over there I was hoping just to get even a glimpse of this rare bird.

In 1523 the Bishop of London brought an action to prevent herons and spoonbills - known then as 'shovelars' - being taken from their nests there. They nested in East Anglia until the 17th century but now there are possibly less than 4 breeding pairs in the UK.

It was feeding with it's long spatulate beak shaking it's head from side to side munching on small fish and aquatic insects in the lake. The Hide was agog!! Lenses, binoculars - every birder for miles cramming in there to get a better view....and...then it came closer! Just couldn't believe my luck as I'd taken the big lens and it sauntered jauntily towards me - Oh yes very jauntily!!! The last time I'd seen a spoonbill was in Florida at the Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge on Sanibel a few years ago so I was so excited to get this here :))

Bonus in that I can add it to The List too!

More spoonbill shots!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.