Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Summer Surprises

Monday afternoons = a little bit of time spent in Dubai Festival City while I wait for G while she tutors a child.

Last week whilst I was racing against time, Modhesh came around with his entourage of walking jugglers and I was REALLY annoyed with myself for not having my camera on me. This week, I went purposefully in the hope that he was there - but NO... think that's it. He's gone to another Mall.

I visited electronics heaven aka Plug Ins and was dying to blip the store but there were way too many staff dressed in yellow shirts who couldn't be bothered to find out if I needed any assistance and I just didn't have it in me to tackle any challenges.

Left the place to find these entertainers doing their thing. No time to stop and take it in though. Got to G on time to bring her back home for yet another student!

I've had a GREAT day today. Tomorrow, I start printing canvasses. I am so thrilled to be part of enhancing the work environment of my ex-employer, not that it needs too much work as in the new premises, they have stunning 360deg views of the city, AND my cousin's daughter Marylou who initially joined Blipfoto to keep in touch, has today started posting! If you have a moment, please take a look and give her a Blip Welcome. She is based in Karachi (place of my birth) and wants to document what ordinary real life is like there. [She is also a huge Jane Austen fan so feel free to use JA lingo!]

PS. Forgot to mention, the entertainers are there because every summer for a month, Dubai hosts Summer Surprises in order to attract GCC families to holiday here (rather than go to Europe).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.