Imagine the view....

By btc

London Life: our Pensioners....

...The Royal Chelsea Hospital is a retirement home and nursing home for British soldiers, from where we get the term Chelsea Pensioners. The Hospital was founded by King Charles II in 1682 as a retreat for veterans of the regular army who had become unfit for duty, either after 20 year's service or as a result of wounds, a statue of the King sits in the grounds main courtyard.

I blipped the building as part of my Christopher Wren series because he designed the building. I have added the link in case you would like to read more detail about the building and pensioners.

I had a great morning getting some shots, these gentlemen are an absolute credit and have still got a great sense of humour because as he was posing for me he and his mates behind me were taking to piss out of me, as you can see in this shot. All harmless good fun.

I am still amazed when I visit here how that although they are old men and women now that rank still plays such a part in their lives and the respect given to each other, although my model did pull a face when one of the other gents suggested that he pop to Tesco for him.

A wonderful place, you really should visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.