Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

HEADLINE

Those of you who know me well or have read our book will understand why this headline struck me as I shot into Glasgow Central today. I don't know the background and I don't really want to know, but it was a sharp reminder of one of the issues I care about most, our society's woeful inability to care adequately for our most vulnerable children. When I think of what the aspirations of an independent Scotland might be, this would come top of my shopping list.

In Glasgow to meet with the social enterprise's Advisory Group, a fine bunch of folk who gave me a lot of support and much to ponder. What was left of the day was garden focussed, hoeing, weeding, planting out and feeding. Frankly, I'm cream crackered. Oh, and took a call from my son and heir, who brought a wee smile to my face. Yes, you guessed it, he was the one who was found on a railway line when he was 6. I adopted him when he was 10 and then... well you need to read the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.