Bits and Bobs!

By Kate64

Surprise!

Wasn’t expecting a frost this morning, poor geraniums. But they’re now all safely tucked away in the cold frame; one of the many, many jobs I had to do today. My job list was quite doable if it hadn’t been for the fact that it’s taken me eight hours to get hold of antibiotics for Dad who’s come home with a chest infection.

If you’re bored and enjoy a good farce then read on:
- Phoned surgery at 9am, Dad been coughing very badly since his return home yesterday afternoon, kept us both awake most of night. Quite unwell this morning. Was told no appointments left and should phone 111.
- Phoned 111, answered 100 questions, was told a clinician would call back to discuss further.
- Clinician called, answered more questions. Clinician could hear how wheezy and short of breath Dad was. Said she would send notes to the surgery saying a doctor needed to visit Dad. Told me to phone surgery to explain situation.
- Phoned surgery. Receptionist asked if 111 had made an appointment with a doctor at the surgery for Dad (I’d been told there weren’t any available when I phoned!). Receptionist said she’d investigate and call back.
- Receptionist called back, was told a doctor would phone me later.
- 1.30pm doctor phoned. Told me the home had called for a doctor yesterday as they were concerned about dad’s cough but after a phone call from a doctor and a check of observations all was deemed ok. (They didn’t tell me this.) I explained symptoms had worsened and 111 said he should be seen by a doctor. Was told that was not possible but antibiotics would be prescribed and if no improvement to phone surgery at 8am on Friday for home visit.
- 2.15pm phoned pharmacy to check antibiotics were out for delivery. No prescription received. Pharmacist investigated, prescription sent to a pharmacy in Bristol! Told to phone Bristol pharmacy to get prescription transferred.
- Repeatedly phoned Bristol pharmacy, no reply.
- Phoned surgery, they apologised and reissued prescription to local pharmacy.
- 3pm phoned local pharmacy back to explain above.
- 5pm antibiotics arrived!

The patient has been in bed all day, and still is, so along with everything else, I’ve been continuously running up and down the stairs on nurse duty. Can’t wait to go to bed! Something good did happen today though; whoever picked my supermarket delivery miscounted, and an extra bottle of wine turned up in this morning’s delivery, free medicine for me!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.