FranG

By FranG

“Feed the birds……

……tuppence a bag.” was the song lyric from Mary Poppins which shot into my head when I spotted this man today on my wander through Central London to meet my friends. From a photography point of view I now realise I should have more courageous and moved to the left to avoid the red post boxes which rather dominate the image but ( being me) I was a bit shy about taking it so just did a quick snap.
I’ve had a lovely day! My friend had to cancel coffee so I took myself off on a trip up memory lane to Archway where I lived as a student nurse ! It’s all been gentrified but I did work out that our flat was the 2 floors in brown brick above the solicitor- Number 6! There was much laughter at our lunch reminiscing about going to the very Irish pub opposite ( also in the extras) and about young men trying to gate crash parties trying to climb in the first floor windows when the pub closed :) The flat slept 6 so quite a few on the girls moved in and out or stayed during the 2 years I lived there.
 Lunch was such good fun then this evening M, A and I wandered down Holloway Rd eventually finding dinner in a Peruvian restaurant- delicious with unusual flavours. It’s been a lovely day :) 
Next year marks 50 years since we started our nursing training together so we are planning another meet up. I also had to capture the iconic Post Office tower which loomed over my training days being just behind the hospital ( now sadly just a memory as it was demolished in 2007. It had a fascinating history but now only the chapel remains https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_Hospital
I’ve also added a very sweet photo N sent of Mum meeting alpacas at her care home :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.