Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3258. Black Watch Museum Visit

I won a “Behind the Scenes” Museum Tour as part of my prize for the Hauntings Photo Competition so we headed off to the museum this morning to do the tour and to have lunch in their Bistro (which was also part of my prize!).  I also got to keep a Black Watch memento and I chose this blazer badge which I am going to sew on to one of my favourite backpacks.  I also now have an annual pass for the museum which I intend to make very good use of.

I’ve added some photos in the extras of the museum archives and also our wonderful lunch too!

This was such a lovely prize and I absolutely loved seeing some of the collections behind the scenes, we also got to hear about plans for a library there and also their progress on cataloging all of their items, apparently they only have about 10% of their collection properly recorded and stored where any item can be found again.  The little jacket is a replica of a Waterloo Uniform jacket made in 1890 for a child to wear at a Waterloo commemoration dinner.
A wonderful morning and the museum staff were fantastic…it’s such a welcoming museum and well worth a visit if anyone is in the Perth area.

A perfect day for St. Andrew’s day…..

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.