intothehills

By intothehills

Graduation

I'd not expected today to be quite so emotional...

I'm writing this for me and all the other "stupid" kids. Fortunately I've always had the resilience not to let the labels stick, but "disruptive", "a problem" and "doesn't pay attention" were written on nearly every school report of my youth, I know how much damage words like that do to your sense of self. The truth is I was unengaged, bored and excluded... things that whatever they try and tell you are nearly never a pupil problem.
I've been super lucky in this last decade to meet some exceptional educators, people who've made learning fun, who've helped me find the things that really matter to me. Today I finished one of them with the highest marks of my class. 
Big thanks to everyone who's encouraged, supported and put up with me for the last two & half years (& a lot longer for some of you ;-) ) 

If they've told you you can't, believe you can. 
If they've made you think you're less, know you are more. 
If it matters to you, make it happen. 
Kelvyn, MSc Psychology

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.