IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

Whilst Digging

Thanks so much to everyone who has recently sent good wishes for my Mother.  We went along to see her today and helped her celebrate her birthday.   Although she still has a chesty cough it has slightly abated, so she is a bit perkier.  So perky in fact that she wolfed down an iced bun mid-morning, with a cuppa naturally.  Whilst I was there her brother also phoned and sang happy birthday to her.

 
Went to the coal merchant for two sacks of hydrocarbons whilst the Current Mrs Creel was at her piano lesson.  After a quick lunch she made her way to Stromness for her stint in the Cat Charity Shop.  Next week it will be a greenshank. 
 
When CMC had departed, I went round the back of the hoose.  I’d noticed recently, despite rain hail etc, that there was a more than normal puddle .  I started digging.  There was water running in at a great rate of knots (I couldn’t bail quick enough).  I went and located the water main (about 40 metres up the track) and isolated our supply.  I then bailed to expose a ‘t’ pipe.  I tightened a nut and choked back the main supply valve so the incoming isn’t so bad.  A full repair will have to follow. I noted that digging is not an old man’s game.  But what is ?  Crib?  
 
After yesterday’s cairry-on with my Blip I’m going to watch the folder number today.  As light failed (I had taken a pic of the joint) I looked up and took a snap.  As ever!  It was never like this on Blue Peter, but I was a Susan Stranks obsessive; it still shows.   
 
Paul Samwell-Smith is 80.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.