Littlemouse Adventures

By LitlemouseLilly

Adventure

We keep passing a little nature reserve and saying that we will stop one day and have a look, we'll today I decided that we would go.

I googled it first and became super excited to go, it's a disused railway and mining site, with the headstocks in place. Being a southerner all the mining stuff is pretty interesting and we've never seen this sort of stuff before. Steam engines, old agricultural relics, old machining tools etc yes but mining stuff no.

Anyway the site is called Brinsley Headstocks I was amazed that they are mainly wood with the metal components being the gears etc when ever I think of industry I think of steel. I was a little disappointed that the 'tourist' info mainly focused on DH Lawrence and the connection to the mine, I would have loved a bit more information on the actual history and workings, but then I am that kinda girl. But I am sure there are other sites we could visit and there's the mining sculpture park place around somewhere, Mansfield way isn't there? More googling required, but also somewhere that I can take my Dad the next time he visits as I am sure he would find it interesting. Also really want to go to Papplewick pumping station as its a Victorian municipal building and they steam up on certain days (another thing I am sure my Dad would love to visit). I know it's a little weird a girl being excited by machines but the old machines are so beautiful and great to capture.

I am feeling a little better decided to stop taking the trazodone tablets that I was taking to control nerve pain for my ME and actually feeling better for it. Got to the point of being sick of meds I used to survive on painkillers and as I was still needing the pain killers kinda thought it defeated the object of taking the trazodone. Plus I think the increased dizzies where due to them and I don't want to get into a situation where I am taking things to combat the effects of others things. I think when needed drugs are great but sometimes we don't actually need them and sometimes they actually make us worse and you end up on more and more before you've even realised it. I know for me personally less is better. Also I think the fact that I can just stop with no repercussions again proves my point at my body just doesn't need them. Instead I am trying to up and stick to my physio.

So on to physio it's boring that's why I struggle to stick with it, but most of the physio I do is around strengthening core muscles and my thighs well those are exercises covered by my wii fit games so I have dusted off the wii discovered that it still works, and dusted off EA Sports Active and stared on the 30 day challenge, hoping that declaring it here will help me stick to it. Also hoping that I can stick to it, I am doing it low intensity so hoping it won't mess with the ME. Also hoping my knees are up to it, but I have strapping tape to strap my kneecaps back in place if need be :D

Wish me luck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.