Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A lovely day for St Andrew

More sun, more chill, no wind, pink clouds ... In fact, I missed a wonderful sunrise for which my usual precarious viewpoint (hanging out of the window) wasn't available as I became aware of the changing colour of the sky while I crunched through the frozen puddles in the lane on my way to the supermarket. And there was no Oatly regular on the shelves ...

I just had time to go home and have my porridge before the ping of a message announced that my partner in choir was on her way for a rehearsal in church for Sunday. I texted back that there would be coffee first, and put the kettle on ... 

An hour later we were off, two singers and Himself, to the freezing church to rehearse. All went well apart from my inability to count rests between verses ... But the sound was lovely and the church, though Baltic, looked beautiful inside - with the light pouring through the St Andrew window, illuminating the red pulpit fall and dappling the walls with colour. Outside was glorious as well, as we lingered by the graveyard chatting - and all three of these instances are in the collage.

Later Himself and I stirred ourselves for a walk with the sunset, which is when I took my extra photo - I thought the boat silhouettes at Toward Sailing Club  made for quite an arty photo. Tiny waves lapped insistently on the shore, and a flotilla of ducks floated serenely just off the beach. Where do ducks spend their nights, anyone? And can they see in the dark? Probably Googleable questions - I may check.

I pondered making cranberry sauce instead of sitting at the computer before I made dinner, but here I am instead. I'm not entirely sure if it'd last till Christmas if I made it; I bought the cranberries today to make up a "3 for the price of 1" bundle of fruit. I shall see. Tomorrow I must concentrate on some practical tasks to make my Advent journey less stressful and more contemplative. And I think I should be writing something. A poem, preferably. 

But now it's time to cook dinner and I'm peckish. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.