Life's tangled skein

By atp

The Mountains Of Mist

Marie and I had some free time this evening, so went for a walk in Laurie Park. While we were there, Inoticed the Wallace Monument, looking far clearer than it normally did... and that became today's photo.

However, I started to struggle when trying to name all the hills... I wonder if anyone can help?

The image is geotagged, I was looking pretty much North West from the village of Brightons in Falkirk.

The Wallace Monument is clearly recognisable in the centre of the picture, perched atop the glacial intrusion called Abbey Craig. That means that the range of hills immediately behind it, sloping up and to the right of the image are the Ochils - and in particular, Dumyat (I just missed its summit in this image).

I am thinking that behind that, we are seeing the hills that surround Glen Artney? Ben Clach in there, perhaps?

Behind them again, and the tallest hill in the picture, is Ben Ledi - on the shores of Loch Lubnaig, just a little north-west of Callendar.

And that leaves the question of what is the left-most hill? It must be the Trossachs somewhere, but where?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.