Cumbrialass

By Cumbrialass

Thursday

Another beautiful day. Bright blue cloudless sky and jot a breath of wind. Although it was only 4 degrees in the shade in the sun it was quite pleasant.  
My knee was less painful but I didnt want to drive far so we had a walk up to the Sea wall.  The water was like glass.

After lunch we left Fletch and drove up.to Furness General as M had an appointment  in ENT ( all ok.)

While I sat waiting for him I noticed this amazing hanging sculpture above me. 
There was no information about it so I went on a local Facebook page. 

Apparently  it is in honour of those who lost their lives in the sinking of HMS Sheffield in the Falklands war. HMS Sheffield was built in Barrow. I remember the shock of hearing it had been sunk.  

 Ironically quite a number of warships were also built in Barrow for the Argentine navy in the 1970s. A lot of Argentine families  linked to their navy lived here and I taught some of their children who attended our local schools. 
  Little did people know that those ships built by people in this town would be used to fight against our ships, also built in Barrow and worse, the people who had become friends would be classed as enemies.
A sobering thought.

(I haven't been able to find out much info on who designed / made the sculpture . But it is very striking. The  silver panels depict the map of the islands. )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.