Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Cancelled

I put my nose out of the door at 6am, took in the sparkly road and decided we would cancel Parkrun.  It was bitingly cold and frozen and safety had to be the first priority.  There were several tasks to do to make sure all were informed and then I set out for the park to pick up the parkrunners who, for one reason or another, may not see the announcement in all the various places.  There were four of those.

The park was very beautiful under the heavy frost but I had to keep moving to keep warm and a circuit of the park confirmed that the right decision had been taken.  Once happy that no one else would appear, I walked back home through a frosty, pretty St Ives and relaxed with a welcome cup of coffee.  Then it was an early lunch before we set back out to St Ives for an enjoyable couple of hours tree planting on one of the areas which has been felled.  Oak, rowan and hazel went in to replace the larches and rhododendron.  It turned out to be something of a Parkrun reunion with Chris and Jo arriving to take part.  Thankfully, under the solid crust of earth the ground was relatively easy to dig in to and the afternoon's target was reached before we packed up.

My blip was taken early doors as I walked down Beckfoot Lane to the park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.