CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

An unusual garden visit by a heron

I was aware that my number was nearly up – my ten year Blip anniversary. Sitting at my desk today, with the promise of fine sunny weather not having materialised, I was wondering whether an emergency blip would be called for. Then I saw the big flapping wings of this heron flying up the valley and about to land in our ash tree at the end of the garden. Suddenly an interesting option was being offered.

Herons have regularly used the top branches of the ash tree as a perch, when they fly up from the main river about three hundred yards down the valley. Sometimes they have a rest then continue further up the side valley of the Lime Brook, flowing down behind our garden, where there are a couple of small dammed ponds. Another attraction for them are the small garden ponds further down our road, as I know from Jess G., who regularly complains that herons land on the edge of their pond and try to get her fish. 

As soon as it landed on the tree today I grabbed my camera which was on my desk, opened the window, despite the freezing conditions, and prepared to watch and wait. It wasn’t long before the regular inhabitants of the garden and the ash tree came to have a closer look. About five magpies squawked and flapped close by to the heron. I saw one actually nipping the heron’s tail feathers, but without too much effect. About six crows landed a good few yards away without seeming too disturbed. A great spotted woodpecker flew from our bird feeder down the garden and onto the ash but didn’t hang about. A rather rarer small flock of redwings landed at the top of the tree and stayed for a short while.

The heron seemed to be resting so I assumed it had possibly had a good feed in the river Frome or along the adjacent canal’s banks. Occasionally it spent a few minutes preening itself with its long beak. At one point it stood on one leg and used its clawed foot to very gently scratch around its head and beak. I’ve added a picture of that as an ‘Extra’. It stayed for about an hour during which I had phone calls and listened to the rather fascinating Covid Inquiry grilling of Matt Hancock. The barristers especially Hugo Keith KC.are quite phenomenal interrogators.

And then with a sudden change of stance and turning through 180 degrees, it stood tall and alert before taking off down the valley towards Jess G.’s pond! I’ve added a couple of ‘Extras’ as well.

Apologies to my old blip friends who seldom get the attention they deserve from me. I try to say hello and add pithy comments, but I’ve found that I can only add blips intermittently and also can view others’ blips  on odd occasions. I do care! It has taken me thirteen years to reach my ten year anniversary so that says a lot. I’ll keep adding pictures but will carry on at my own pace. Thank you for popping by to have a look and I’m always grateful for pithy comments, jokes and important news from all your lives. I think we must all have fun while we blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.