IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

Hoy High Lighthouse

I answered a call from my mother’s ex-neighbour in Aberdeenshire.  She explained that she’d sent some flooers for my Mum’s birthday  - but had sent them to her previous address in Stromness.  She had been informed they had got as far as Inverness but no-one else could help.  She asked me to call the PO ‘Help’ line.  Option 1 was for folk whose Passport was about to expire / Option 2 was in case you wished to return a package to Tashkent / etc.  I replaced the receiver at Option 47.  I went to the Sorting Office in Stromness.  I spoke to Donny (some of you may remember it was he who helped to erect the marquee for my silver wedding party) who had just sent the flooers to Charlie our postie.
 
I then started my Christmas shopping and even went through to Kirkwall.  Whilst I was away, the Current Mrs Creel received two bottles of whiskies from the postie (no  flooers) and a courier. An Uigeadail and a Glentauchers.  Really, the temerity of these distilleries dispersing their product without me placing an order.  It’s difficult to keep up.
 
Went along late pm with CMC to see Dougal for his birthday.  He has become bedridden – maybe that’s the wrong term as he can walk but he can’t get oot of the bit.  I therefore layed down on the bed beside him.  We didn’t cuddle.  We had a good blether but, sadly, he’s struggling.  Things are far from easy for his manager.  He appreciated his birthday gift – which was a selection of pies and broon sauce.
 
That is all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.