Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Crackers!

FRIDAY

Another cold night outside with a heavy frost.

I was up and showered before 07:00 am as we were expecting some deliveries/ visits.

The builders' merchant arrived at 07:20 with a van full of cabinets, sanitary ware,  ceramic tiles and other fittings for the refurbishment of the en-suite room which is scheduled to start on Monday. Yet more upheaval next week.

The Worcester Bosch Engineer arrived at 12:15 to investigate an issue with our new boiler which was installed earlier in the week. He diagnosed a faulty turbine which was failing to sense when water was being drawn from some of the hot taps. A new turbine was fitted and everything now seems to be working as it should.

A couple of deliveries this afternoon including a box of coffee and a heated throw. Both were Black Friday deals.

At 16:00 I headed over to the banqueting suite at John Smith's Stadium in Huddersfield as my former work colleagues had invited me to their Christmas dinner. It was good to catch up with them as some I have not seen this side of the Covid pandemic.  (See extras). It's amazing what you find in Christmas crackers.

The journey from Wales to Huddersfield during the Friday rush hour took the best part of three hours. The return journey took me just over 90 minutes and I was home just after midnight. Both journeys were done in sub zero temperatures with freezing fog and treacherous conditions on the final couple of miles home.

I guess the countdown to Christmas has now started.

Oh, and Blip has just informed me that this is my 4,000 entry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.