HellsBells

By HellsBells

Snow

I didn't sleep well last night,  I was worrying about the general weather conditions for our morning swim.
It was calm, dry and -2.5 when I set off from home at 7am. Half way to Bassenthwaite it started to snow, just a bit. It was sleeting by the time we got there and the wind speed was 7+, although it felt a lot more. The water temperature was 4.1 degrees and it looked very stirred up and dirty at the edges. We all went in. It was difficult to swim anywhere due to the strong current, we all stuck parallel to the shore. I'd had enough after 15 minutes, the cold wind and sleet in my face finished me off.I was glad to get dry and warm.
Caroline had brought sausage buns and I'd got mince pies. I washed mine down with hot chocolate.

I enjoyed the heated seat in Clare's car on the way home . The snow  was becoming a bit heavier on the way home and beginning to settle. At home there was just a sprinkling that disappeared after lunch. I put the Christmas decorations up in the afternoon.

Cumbria, as a whole has had a lot of snow with several roads becoming impassible. It's a stark reminder for me to be respectful of the combined elements when choosing to swim in a cold lake!

Pano shot best viewed large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.